Be the Principal of Change

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Tomorrow is my first official day as a principal, and Gahndi’s words keep reverberating in my head. This is my chance to lead and innovate and positively influence all who enter my school. Because I feel I was called to administration as I was with teaching, I cannot help but reflect back on my first day as a teacher. As a new teacher, I wanted to make an impact. I wanted to make a difference in the lives of learners and build capacity in them to reach their greatest potentials. I wanted to seek out and design effective and engaging teaching methods. I wanted to be the kind of teacher that I would want for myself and my children. I wanted to “be the change” rather than just talk about change.

So, what does it mean to “be the change” as a principal? It means to let every action reflect my beliefs and ideals. It means to be accountable and responsible, not making excuses. It means to lead with commitment and heart. It means to put ideas into action. It means to do and be rather than just talk.

In the spirit of Gahndi, I hope that my leadership changes others for the better. As I begin my term as a principal, my goal is that others will see the following actions reflected in my words, actions, and principles.

  • Be supportive
  • Be accessible
  • Be visible
  • Be fair
  • Be collaborative
  • Be kind, caring, and respectful
  • Be an example
  • Be with students
  • Be a good communicator
Leave a Reply

